Travel Wardrobe – Finished

17 Apr

The title is a bit tongue-in-cheek, because the travel wardrobe isn’t finished until the suitcase is zipped shut for the final time, but at least I can say the Spring Six-Pac is finished.  This is probably the best collection I’ve ever put together, simply because each piece goes with other pieces in my closet.  I learned a lot about combining colors, and especially about Nanette Lapore’s “column of color”.

Simply stated, the column of color is the anchor of a collection.  Besides being slimming, it offer the opportunity for throwing just about anything in your closet (especially if you are working within your personal color zone) over the top to create an entirely new look.

I extended the column of color to include a draped cardigan in the same fabric.  I figured it would offer lots of mix-and-match opportunities.  I will say that I have finally come to the conclusion that a draped cardi is not for me.  This one is the StyleArc Abby cardi, and it is good as far as draped cardis go, but I’m just not crazy about the look.  I will wear this one, though.

Here is the collection:

From left to right, the Abby Cardigan from StyleArc, the Creative Cate top (under the cardi) from StyleArc, Vogue 8435 raglan sleeve top, The Sewing Workshop Quincy top without pleats at the bust, another Vogue 8435 top, Cutting Line Design Discover Something Novel pants, and finally, Annie’s Cami from StyleArc.

The missing piece here is the Vogue 8435 skirt made from the same fabric as the Quincy top (a wonderful rayon tencel from Marcy Tilton).  I didn’t have enough fabric and had to order some more (actually, I think I accidentally threw a piece away, but that’s another story).

The scarf was a bit of serendipity – a piece of silk from my stash that I had purchased long ago to make a scarf, but never did.

By the way, I love, love, love the Quincy!  I intend to figure out how to make it without the zipper, either with one large button at the top or no buttons at all.  I like it without the pleats, and got the idea for that from TerriK on Stitcher’s Guild.  Thanks Terri!

I’m off to a spa in Utah next week for 3 days with a dear friend of mine.  I am so looking forward to it.  I’m sewing a couple of tops and some pajamas that I will post about later.

Here are two more pictures of the collection:

27 Responses to “Travel Wardrobe – Finished”

  1. Audrey October 4, 2014 at 8:34 AM #

    What a fabulous travel wardrobe! Great pieces and flattering colors. Have a wonderful time wearing it.

  2. kuby2u May 7, 2012 at 5:19 PM #

    Oh my goodness that jacket is to die for!!! It’s really spectacular.

  3. Karen Saieed May 3, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    Janis, your recently completed wardrobe is just perfectly coordinated. You are the best and selecting fabrics, styles, and patterns for your build/size/coloration. Congratulations and happy travels.

    Karendee

  4. Pauline Droy April 25, 2012 at 11:46 PM #

    Wow what a wonderful collection you have put together, and how satisfying when you do zip up your back to know that you made them all yourself. Have a wonderful trip Pdiddly

  5. ejvc April 21, 2012 at 6:16 AM #

    Janis, I know I commented on the forum, but I wanted to say more – really this is SUCH a nice collection, and really what I had in mind when I created the 6PAC – only better than I imagined. You’re right that the skirt in the quincy fabric will be the perfect addition. And to find TWO prints that co-ordinate – hats off.

    • Janis April 21, 2012 at 8:32 AM #

      Thanks so much, Elizabeth. It was fun putting this collection together. The 6 pac was such a good idea for learning how to put items that coordinate together. My mantra is “no more orphans”.

  6. Sharon April 18, 2012 at 9:10 PM #

    Wonderful capsule Janis, I can see them in my suitcase 🙂 Enjoy the spa in Utah.

    • Janis April 19, 2012 at 3:13 PM #

      Thanks, Sharon. Since it’s raining here (surprise) and sunny at the spa, I can’t wait. I will enjoy!

  7. kbenco April 18, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

    Your travel wardrobe looks terrific, so beautifully co-ordinated and travel friendly fabrics too. I am inspired.

    • Janis April 18, 2012 at 8:38 PM #

      Hi Karen, I so appreciate your comments.

  8. Martha Edwards Myers April 18, 2012 at 1:43 PM #

    Wow, wow, wow. You are so inspirational!

    • Janis April 18, 2012 at 8:37 PM #

      Thanks so much, Martha. You inspire me all the time!

  9. pixilated2 April 17, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

    Gorgeous, will you share the pattern name and number on the zippered jacket please! 🙂
    ~ Lynda

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

      Hi Lynda,

      Thanks! That’s The Sewing Workshop Quincy jacket.

  10. Dixie April 17, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

    Wow, this wardrobe is just beautiful. I love the neutrals together. The fabric used for the print raglan top works so well with the color of the Quincy and the gray fabric. And the scarf is just perfect! Such nice sewing, too. Great job!

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 8:44 PM #

      Thanks, Dixie. I very much appreciate your opinion. Your work is always so nice.

  11. simplefrog April 17, 2012 at 5:31 PM #

    Janis, You are certainly the queen of creating the elegant and functional travel wardrobe.

    Re the Quincy mod, last July Linda Lee did a blog post on how to add a placket with buttons to the Quincy – here is the link http://sewingworkshop.com/blogs/129-quincy-top-button-front-variation. I am at a decision point whether to make another Quincy or the new Icon shirt out of some interesting cottons.

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 8:57 PM #

      Thanks for the nice comments, simplefrog (love the moniker). And thanks so much for the link. I’m off to look at it.

  12. Leslie Bonner April 17, 2012 at 4:33 PM #

    Janis,
    That wardrobe is lovely and perfect for not just traveling. I like the combination of neutrals and the prints really livens everything up. I bought that Vogue pattern because you had recommended the skirt and now I see I’m going to have to try the raglan top. I’m glad to had the piece for the scarf. I think I might have some treasures in my sewing room that I’ve overlooked which reminds me I need another cleaning.

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 8:46 PM #

      Hi Leslie! Thanks so much for your comments. I hope you are recovering nicely. Let us know how you are doing.

      That raglan top is very nice because it has darts at the shoulders. You should try it.

  13. velosewer April 17, 2012 at 4:07 PM #

    Janice. These are all great pieces and you’ve put them together really well. I do understand that this collection won’t be finished until you’re on the plane and on holidays:-)

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 4:12 PM #

      Hi Maria,
      Thanks…never finished till the end! It will probably be quiet different by the time the trip gets here.

  14. Mary Brady April 17, 2012 at 1:33 PM #

    Every piece is beautiful, that they all go together is so great, and you made them all … Amazing! Love it!!

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 4:13 PM #

      Thanks for your kind comments, Mary.

  15. SewRuthie April 17, 2012 at 12:28 PM #

    Jan its wonderful. I love that they are such practical wearbale pieces and that you made them all yourself. Great job!

    • Janis April 17, 2012 at 4:11 PM #

      Thanks, Ruthie. i appreciate your comments.

Leave a Reply

