Travel Wardrobe 2012

7 Mar

I have decided that I am hopeless at blogging, mainly because when I get stuck in my sewing, I get stuck in my blogging, as well.  That makes for a fairly sparse blog.  Here is a brief update:

The Koos jacket is still unfinished.  I decided somewhere along the way that it is NOT my style.  This was one of the best sewing failures I’ve ever had, in terms of what I learned:  I cannot wear clothes that don’t fit around the shoulders.  Forgive me if I am repeating myself, but I really have no shoulders to speak of; therefore, anything loose-fitting around the shoulders makes me look like I’m playing dress-up in my mother’s clothes.

The Koos jacket sat on my dress form for months, while my sewing and blogging languished.  I finally said to the Koos jacket, “Off with your head!”  It is now folded up in a corner of my sewing room…resting.

In the meantime, I have started my travel wardrobe for 2012.  In August, we are visiting family in Stockholm, and then taking a side trip to Budapest.  It will be very hot in Budapest, so I’m going for a very cool and casual wardrobe, which for me means loose-fitting and light-weight.

I’ve been working on this “packing for travel” thing for a long time, and have decided that knits are the way to go.  They are cool and comfortable, they pack light and fold to nothing.  I can wash them in the sink and hang to dry.  Knits are really perfect for a travel wardrobe.

My travel wardrobe will look something like this for a two-week trip:

1.  7 knit tops

2.  2 knit pants

3.  1 skirt

4.  1 or 2 knit overlayers (shirt or cardigan)

Marcy Tilton has some wonderful fabric she calls “Paris microfiber knit” that I used last year on some casual pants.  I loved the ease of wear of this fabric, so I bought a ton of it for this year’s travel wardrobe, both in black and gray.  Here is what I have come up with so far:

Here, I am following Nancy Nix Rice’s idea of a column of color as a base.  This will make me look taller and thinner…maybe : ).  The top is the StyleArc’s Annie’s Cami and the pants are Cutting Line Design’s Discover Something Novel.

I threw a Babette blouse from my closet over my shoulders, and viola, an outfit:

Then I made this StyleArc Creative Cate top to go with the pants:

Finally, I added this StyleArc cardigan to the mix:

The cardi is not hemmed in this picture, but you can see that I’m working my way to a functional summer travel wardrobe.

10 Responses to “Travel Wardrobe 2012”

  1. Karen March 9, 2012 at 3:40 PM #

    Very impressive start on your travel wardrobe. I wasn’t going to make up the SA Annie Cami, but seeing yours…thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Audrey March 8, 2012 at 8:55 PM #

    Your travel wardrobe is wonderful. The colors you have chosen are so pretty and the garment are very flattering to you. I can’t wait to see the other pieces

  3. Louisa March 8, 2012 at 8:40 AM #

    I love how well patterns from different sources go together so well. You look really great in them too! A perfect travel wardrobe. Grey is my new favourite neutral. I guess because my hair is matching it now? 😉

    Keep on blogging. It’s so worth it, not just for us but for you. I find blogging helps clarify my goals, records my successes and helps me work through (or around) my failures.

  4. Pat BB March 8, 2012 at 6:19 AM #

    Glad you are back. Can really identify with your blog and style of writing and lessons. Very timely the travel wardrobe as I am also trying to put together a co-ordinated wardrobe and have now learned about the micro-fibre knits. You have encouraged me to follow a planned approach to sewing and hopefully eliminate the “orphans” I tend to acquire. Keep blogging please, we are reading and learning. Also, I made about 12 of your infinite scarves with a light weight knit, most with a muted animal print. I gave them as gifts to family and friends age 30 to 70 and they loved them. Cheers,

  5. Alison March 7, 2012 at 10:38 PM #

    I am now 100% sure that we are twins. There are no updates on my sewing blog either because I am not sewing either. I’m blocked! However, I am making 30 little coin purses with my OCD affliction. 🙂

    Love your travel wardrobe and I think you are spot on with what you’re going to take. Love the colours & love your hair.

  6. Dixie March 7, 2012 at 8:55 PM #

    Thanks for a great update. You’ve been busy, and the beginnings of your travel wardrobe are very strong. I really like the colors you’ve started with. I’m glad to hear you like MT’s poly microfiber knits. My sister needs some easy care cardigans, and I’ve wondered how this fabric would work for her. It sounds like a good thing, even though it’s polyester. The microfiber aspect makes all the difference.
    Please don’t give up on blogging! I don’t for a minute think you’re hopeless at it. I recently went through two months of not having the desire to write, but it came back. Wadders can be real energy sappers. All of that anticipation, only to be let down with the result of your effort. Good for you, for moving on.
    I look forward to seeing more of your wardrobe!

  7. Sharon March 7, 2012 at 7:56 PM #

    As frustrating as your Koos coat has become, I’m so glad to see your travel wardrobe. Your pieces so far as looking wonderful, the microfiber knit looks luxurious, no chance of that here in Australia and I also don’t need any more fabric, and your tops and cardi make such great outfits, can’t wait to see the total set.

  8. velosewer March 7, 2012 at 7:52 PM #

    I love how your travel wardrobe is progressing and the fact that you’re about to travel. Those colours are lovely and your hair is looking great.

    Sorry to hear about the Koos jacket and I’m glad you’ve moved on now.
    Cheers:)

  9. Jilly Be March 7, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

    I’m just drooling over the shimmer & drape of that microfiber knit! But. I am NOT buying more fabric right now. Not, I say, NOT!

    However, if you would like my address, I’ll finish your Koos coat for me. I mean for you. };-) Really, I’m sorry to hear that it’s just not working for you….I had SUCH high hopes for it, given your amazingly wonderful fabric choices!

    But I do understand…I have 2 items that I put hours of time in, & it’s becoming more clear to me that some things were never meant to be. Some clothes simply do not belong on your body, no matter how much you want to wish they did….

    • Martha March 7, 2012 at 7:56 PM #

      I really like the silhouette you’ve created with your columns. Casual, put-together, pretty.

Leave a Reply

