Vogue 8634…again

28 Nov

While I’m waiting to begin the Koos jacket, which is part of my winter 6 pack, I decided to make another top from this pattern.  If you remember, I made this top in a wild and crazy (for me) rayon knit for the 6 pack.  I really loved the way it turned out, so I decided to use my precious Missoni knit from Emma One Sock to make the next one.  This is not a top-of-the-line Missoni.  It is polyester, which I really hesitated to buy, but I’m so glad I did.  It really doesn’t have a poly feel.  You would probably guess that it is a cotton/rayon type knit.

The knit is fairly loose, so I decided to reinforce on the front and back shoulders (since it’s a raglan sleeve) and along the neck edge:

I had to lower the horizontal seam on the bodice. I think anyone who isn’t very flat-chested would have to do the same. Otherwise you will end up with a seam running across the middle of your boobs. I lowered the seam by 2 inches, which might have been a bit much, but it looks fine. Here is the finished top:

This is a comfortable top and I will probably make it again.  I especially like it in the sweater knit, because it works with a “beefier” fabric.

My focus this week is in finding the chocolate binding for my Koos jacket, and altering some clothes, since weight loss has me looking baggy and saggy these days.

Koos class starts on Thursday :).

6 Responses to “Vogue 8634…again”

  1. Velosewer November 29, 2011 at 7:20 PM #

    You look relaxed and stylish in this top. I love it.

  2. Sharon November 28, 2011 at 7:40 PM #

    Love your top, it looks so comfortable and versatile. Hope you find your chocolate bias binding before Thursday, how exciting.

  3. Zeila November 28, 2011 at 6:36 PM #

    Very cute…I love your fabric choice.

  4. Linda T November 28, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Darling top! Looks great on you.

  5. lessalt November 28, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

    Janis,
    Your top is beautiful. Of course I love the fabric because I also purchased it. I am liking the neck on that top and will remember about the midriff seam.

  6. Martha November 28, 2011 at 3:05 PM #

    Great looking top, Janis! I have this pattern and a similar, albeit non-Missoni, knit so I just might combine the two.

Leave a Reply

