Visiting NYC and the Garment District

26 Nov

My husband, “The Donald”, travels for business, but usually doesn’t go anywhere very thrilling.  When he said he was going to New York, though, I was all over it.  I needed some fabric for the Koos jacket that I will be making in a class beginning December 1, so I thought this would be a great opportunity to see the Garment District AND pick up some cool fabric for the coat.  Here are some scenes from the district:



Mood was a must on my travels, but it was hard to find.  If you are ever in the area, looking for Mood, just know that it is in a nondescript building on the 3rd floor.  There is no sign, unless you look up towards the 3rd floor windows.  This is what it looks like from the street:

See, no sign.

Here are some random interior shots of Mood, including the precious doggie, who was running around like a bat out of hell the whole time I was there:

Looking in from the elevator

Yes, lots of fabric (on two, large floors)

He was pretty cute!

And, finally, here are the fabrics I have chosen for my Koos coat:

I am going to use a dark chocolate binding to delineate the different fabrics. I wanted the colors to be the same, but the patterns and textures to be different. I’m hoping the brown binding will make it pop.

Included in the fabrics are a wool herringbone, a wool stylized plaid, a wool tweed that has sparkles, and a silk.

I am so glad I had the opportunity to visit the Garment District. It IS a bit overwhelming, so if you are planning a trip, make sure you have a list of fabrics you want to buy. Also, try to set aside at least two days for the district. The first day I just walked around in a state of total disbelief and confusion. It wasn’t until the second day that I could finally make some purchases.

8 Responses to “Visiting NYC and the Garment District”

  1. Meg December 1, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

    Janis, it looks like you did pretty well there for a first-timer. Next time visit my website Shop the Garment District (http://shopthegarmentdistrict.com) for a map and lots of insider tips. Hope you get back here soon! —Meg

  2. Dixie November 28, 2011 at 6:44 PM #

    Great fabric selection for your new Koos coat. I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product! Thanks for sharing photos from the garment district. I really should go there sometime.

  3. Sharon November 27, 2011 at 8:44 PM #

    Gorgeous fabrics and your coat is going to be stunning. New York is on my bucket list, wishful thinking it will be soon.

  4. velosewer November 27, 2011 at 3:09 PM #

    Thank you for the write up Janis. Your fabrics are great.

  5. lessalt November 27, 2011 at 8:39 AM #

    Janis,
    I’m so jealous. Those fabrics are beautiful and your Koos coat is going to be gorgeous! I love your idea of coordinating fabrics. Thank you for the pictures. At least we can live vicariously.
    Leslie

  6. Alison November 26, 2011 at 10:20 PM #

    Oh wow….New York! Sigh.

    Your fabrics are just gorgeous!

  7. Jilly Be November 26, 2011 at 8:34 PM #

    I promise not to drool on your fabric….can I just feel it up a little? Seriously, you are my fabric shopping hero!

    I recognized Swatch the moment I saw him! (from tv…I’ve never had the pleasure of Mood shopping….maybe one of these days….if you’ll take me with you lol)

    I just did my first “in process” post on The Coat….cannot WAIT to see yours!

  8. Shams November 26, 2011 at 8:04 PM #

    Oh, Janis, those fabrics are TOO YUMMAY! This coat is going to be amazing!

Leave a Reply

