Vogue 8120 and 8634 – The Six-Pack Continues

16 Nov

One thing I’ve noticed about my sewing skills lately is that I’m finally to the point of being able to look at a mistake without having a complete nervous breakdown.  Now, that’s progress!  I ALMOST see a mistake as a challenge to be overcome.  It definitely means less wadders.

I’ve just completed Vogue 8120, and yes, I made a few mistakes (shhhhhhh).  I made the white view (3/4 sleeves), but with buttons.  Here is the completed top, worn with my Vogue 8435 skirt:

I used a pattern that went from size 6 to 12, which I really hate because my hips require a size 14.  I wish they would just put all the sizes in one envelope.  I would even be willing to pay more for a pattern with all the sizes.

I decided to use the size 6 through the neck and shoulders, but I still had to do a narrow shoulder adjustment.  This was complicated by the fact that the top has armscye princess seams, and I wasn’t sure how to do a narrow shoulder adjustment with these seams.  That, and having to grade up to a size 14 at the hips led me to do the unthinkable…I made a muslin.

I’m glad I made the muslin, because the adjustments were pretty easy, once I could see what I was dealing with.  I’ll never say “I never make muslins” again, but I WILL still say that I hate making them.

This fabric is either a viyella (cotton/wool) or more likely a wool challis.  I decided to use french seams, and I even did them on the armscye:

I love this blouse, and will probably make it up again in white cotton.  It would be the perfect white blouse.

I had been looking for a cowl neck that wouldn’t fall off my shoulders, and many people recommended Vogue 8634:

I made the middle view with 3/4 sleeves:

I liked this top so much, I made it in a sweater knit, as well, which I will show you on another post.

Both of these tops go with the Vogue skirt I made for the six-pack.  So, I have three pieces done and three to go.

Some of you asked me to post a picture of my jacket with me wearing it, so here it is:

I included a side view so you could see that it is not a swing coat, like the envelope would have you believe.  It’s okay with me, because I love the way this coat turned out, but if you have your heart set on a swing coat, this is not it.

I am on my way to New York City tomorrow to go fabric shopping for the Koos Coat that is a part of my six-pack.  I’ll have lots of NYC pictures to share when I get back.

11 Responses to “Vogue 8120 and 8634 – The Six-Pack Continues”

  1. pixilated2 March 8, 2012 at 6:39 AM #

    I have only ever made one Vogue pattern. It was my wedding dress… what you see on the pattern sleeve is not what you are in for when you unfold the tissue. I had no idea when I looked at the scalloped lace that they would make me cut the scallops off the edges and then resew them by hand onto the fitted shoulder lace and sleeves. So, many french seams, hand basting, and handkerchief rolled edges later, I had a gown I was proud to say that I had made myself.
    You make it look easy. 😉
    ~ Lynda

  2. Meredith November 19, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Beautiful! I’m thinking of making V8634 next, but maybe I should add that skirt to my queue! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Remnant November 17, 2011 at 1:39 PM #

    Thanks for the photos of the coat on you. Splendid!!! As are the other outfits you’ve modeled. Have fun in NYC!

  4. Karen Saieed November 17, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    Janis, this whole set of clothing is just amazing. You look quite lovely in each piece! And the best part is that each garment has an elegant, RTW look that you will greatly enjoy wearing. Fantastic job.

    Enjoy your trip to NYC.

    Karendee

  5. Audrey November 17, 2011 at 6:39 AM #

    All the garments you have made for your 6 Pac are so lovely and they look great together. I have made that blouse before and it is one of my favorites. It was also used a lot in the Stitches Magazine SWAP’s which started the SWAP and wardrobe contests on all the sewign discussion boards. And Viyella is so comfortable to wear.

  6. Kbenco November 17, 2011 at 5:05 AM #

    Your outfits are so smart. I love the asymmetry in the first outfit, and your french seams are such a lovely finish for the inside.
    The coat looks even better on you. Great 6pking!

  7. Efwa - Medea November 17, 2011 at 4:57 AM #

    Wow, everything is wonderful!! What a fantastic work you’ve done.

  8. Alison November 17, 2011 at 2:08 AM #

    You look absolutely fantastic girl! Great colours LOL. Have a fabulous time in NYC. I’m green with envy.

  9. Sharon November 16, 2011 at 8:07 PM #

    Janis you look stunning, love the new hair style as well. Your blouse is perfect and the knit top will be so useful. Thank you for the photo of you wearing the jacket, it looks very warm and cozy. Your Six-Pack is coming along nicely and can’t wait to see what you bring home for the Koos Coat.

  10. lessalt November 16, 2011 at 5:15 PM #

    Wow, Janis, you are on a roll. I love your choices and they look beautiful on you. I had to buy that skirt pattern on ebay after your recommendation.

  11. velosewer November 16, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

    Wow Janis. You are looking good. The blouse is a winner and the knit top was really great to see. You also look great in your jacket. Have fun in NYC. I hate doing muslins but I will do them to save my tears.

Leave a Reply

