Stitcher’s Guild Winter Six-Pack with New Colors

3 Nov

I just had validation that the new color palette is going to work.  It took me a minute to decide what my Winter Six-Pack would consist of.  Amazing!  That little task alone paid for the color analysis.  Usually, I would be wringing my hands and testing my less-than-artistic brain for hours trying to figure that out.

The funny thing is that I had just purchased two pieces of fabric to test my newfound color skills.  Those two pieces, plus some oddballs I’d had in my stash for years, will make up my Winter Six-Pack.  Here are the fabrics:

The top piece is a brown wool gabardine I might use for pants.  The second piece is a viyella print (believe it or not) that I found at a local fabric store.  The third piece is wool jersey for the skirt and cardi.  The last piece is a rayon knit I’ve had in my stash for a few years.  The fabric that isn’t here is the jacket fabric.  I’m making the new Koos jacket and am still working on the fabric for that piece:

This is the plan:

1 jacket (in multiple shades of brown)

1 skirt (in a rust wool jersey)

1 cardi/vest-type thing to go with the skirt (the same wool jersey as the skirt)

1 woven top (the multi color viyella)

1 knit top (in a rust, orange, and brown knit)

1 pants (brown wool)

The first piece is actually finished.  It’s this out of print Vogue Woman pattern:

Vogue 8435

I hesitated to pay the price for this pattern, but it’s a real sleeper.  I saw it on a fellow sewist at sewing camp and had to have it.  This is now a TNT pattern for me, so I’m thrilled I bought it after all.  Here is my version:

The pattern calls for a stable knit, so I made mine out of a wool jersey.  I have a bit more of this fabric left, and want to make something to go with this skirt.  I could use some help with the selection of the coordinate.  Here are some options:

Marcy Tilton for Vogue 8779:

I think the long skirt with the short swing jacket will look a little vintage.  That might work.  On the other hand, are the proportions right for that look?  And, if I make this jacket, I have to deal with putting a separating zipper in a knit.  I’ve never done that and this fabric is a nightmare to rip out!  Ask me how I know.

Here is another option.  It’s the new Katherine Tilton vest, Vogue 8777:

I love the back detail of this vest, but will the proportions be right with the long skirt? Will the whole profile be “long and skinny”?

Would love any feedback on the cardi/vest piece, or any other suggestions you might have.

10 Responses to “Stitcher’s Guild Winter Six-Pack with New Colors”

  1. Maria November 13, 2011 at 3:26 AM #

    I can see you in the skirt with the vest. The jacket will look great with a slim fitted pants or skirt. Either way, they’ll both be beautifully sewn.

  2. Dixie November 4, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    A nice selection of fabrics and patterns, Janis! My vote is for the Katherine vest. I recently purchased the pattern and plan to make it soon, maybe for this 6pac. i think it will flatter many body types.
    When the Vogue pattern was in print, I often considered buying it, but then realized it looked “heavy” through the hip area. If you look at the overall shape created by the jacket and skirt on the model, you’ll notice sort of a diamond. Her shoulders appear very sloped, her hips appear wide, and the skirt hem is back to shoulder width. Also, the wideness and length of the lapels direct attention to the hip area, creating focus there. This might be a good look if you’re a linebacker with w i d e shoulders, but I don’t think it’s a good shape for most. Just my opinion, but I hope it’s helpful!

  3. sdBev November 4, 2011 at 5:29 AM #

    Janis if you decide upon the zippered jacket, buy some water soluble thread. You can baste the zipper in with the WST. If not satisfied, spritz with water to remove. When you are satisfied, stitch on top with your regular thread, then spritz with water to remove the WST. HTH

  4. lessalt November 3, 2011 at 4:41 PM #

    Janis,
    Love everything you are making and your fabrics too. Looking forward to seeing the finished results.
    Leslie

  5. Annette November 3, 2011 at 3:53 PM #

    Congrats on getting your colors done. I know when I did recently it really helped, since I knew that the analysis done back in the 80s was wrong. I am a cool summer.
    Love your fabric choices for your 6-pac.
    I like the skirt, either the swing jacket or the vest will look great. I am leaning towards the vest for several reasons. The back detailing, the lean lines, and I think the proportions with the skirt would be better. A way to find out would be to measure where they would hit you and compare too the golden mean. Just a thought
    Annette

    • Janis November 3, 2011 at 7:39 PM #

      I have the instructions for the golden mean thing around here somewhere. I’ll have to look for it.

  6. JillyBe November 3, 2011 at 12:00 PM #

    I love that vest! And think it will look great with the skirt. And I’m drooling over your fabrics! I can’t wait to see what you come up with for (our) Koos jacket! Funny thing is, I was considering a vest for my 6-Pac, & now I’m strongly considering that pattern…….

    And I’m really really wanting to get my colors done…I’m on a forced spending diet right now, but it’s high on my priority list for ‘non-essentials’ 😉

  7. Shams November 3, 2011 at 10:46 AM #

    I also love the back detailing of that vest. (And what an interesting necklace she is wearing.) I think it will look great with that long skirt. (And I love the skirt. Now I’m wondering if I have that pattern…)

    That color analysis really did change your life! I hope you don’t have to get rid of too much fabulous fabric that no longer works.

    I wasn’t going to participate in the winter 6-pack, but now I’m considering it…

    I will be coming to Oregon in a week or so but it will be for a limited college tour with DD1 and I won’t even be visiting fabric stores. (Poo.) But, IF she decides to attend college in the Willamette area next year, I hope to arrange a trip where we can meet! 😀 I’m dying to check out the great stores in the Portland area!!! (When and if that time comes, I’ll PM you.)

    • Janis November 3, 2011 at 7:37 PM #

      Oh, is it Willamette University? That’s my alma mater 🙂

      • Shams November 3, 2011 at 10:27 PM #

        Nope. 🙂 Oregon is chock full of small universities!

Leave a Reply

