Sew Expo, Puyallup 2

16 Mar

A few days to recuperate from surgery, and I can finally post #2 of Sew Expo.

I took two of Katherine Tilton’s classes, The Arty T and Using Raw Edges.  I’m going to start with the raw edges class.

I remember the first time I sewed Vogue 8497, I didn’t realize it had raw edges.  I finished it and hated it!  I just couldn’t wrap my mind, or my style, around raw edges!  I guess when things are really different, it takes me awhile to get accustomed to it, not that I would ever say I’m rigid – I actually consider myself quite flexible (a wonderful teacher-trait) :=). But I guess I’ve been pretty traditional when it comes to style, and now that I’m retired and can wear anything I want, I’d like to break out of my mold a bit.  Nothing too radical, mind you, but a few raw edges here and there will NOT kill me.

Katherine’s idea of raw edges can be pretty radical.  She will just throw odds and sods of fabric on garment edges, and it turns out wonderful.  That would never work for me.  But I will say, she did inspire me.  Here are some examples from her website:

There are raw edges at the bottom of this Vogue 8691 T-shirt.  It’s hard to tell, but I think the vertical piece on the front has exposed edges, as well.

I’m not sure what the above pattern is, but this cardi has more raw edges than you can believe.  Isn’t it cute?  This is one of those garments where she just puts pieces of fabric in different places…and viola!  Looks easy, huh?

I love this cardi!  Check out the raw edges on the bottom and the top (and probably the sleeves).  Katherine will sometimes use the role of the fabric as a natural finish on a neckline.  Also, she will use a double fabric treatment for style and warmth.

Katherine and Marcy both use tule or netting for edges, so I bought some at their expo shop.  I washed it today, along with some other fabric that will go with it.  We’ll see what I come up with.

In the Arty T class, Katherine showed us that you COULD combine fabric that you really wouldn’t think would go together, to make beautiful garments.  What I took away from that class is that fabrics will work together if they have at least one color in there that sort of matches.  Mixing patterns on fabrics adds interest and distinctiveness to a homemade garment.

The last class I took at Sew Expo was a class on using my Babylock Serger.  I have an Imagine, which doesn’t have a coverhem.  In this class, we used an Evolution, which does have a coverhem.  Boy, is that baby easy to use.  I love my Imagine, but I am now officially coveting the Evolution.  NO, I WILL NOT BUY IT!

Speaking of buying things, after much deliberation and research, I purchased this Naomoto HYS-58 gravity feed steam iron:

I’m very excited about this purchase, which I thought I would never say about an iron, lol.  I now must locate an IV stand to hold the water container, then I’m set.  Press on!

5 Responses to “Sew Expo, Puyallup 2”

  1. dianewr September 5, 2011 at 4:51 PM #

    Love these updates!

  2. velosewer March 25, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Marcy did some creative looks and it’s going to take me some time (and practice) to make unfinished net tops too.

  3. Alison March 18, 2011 at 12:45 PM #

    I too am wanting to make a Marcy Tilton top! I found a dress in my wardrobe that is now too big but is completely made of mesh. I always had the intention of cutting it up but now I know exactly what I’m gonna do!

  4. Sharon March 16, 2011 at 11:22 PM #

    Take care of yourself after the surgery, you don’t wan’t to do too much.

    I also enjoyed the Marcy Tilton Arty Cardy class and plan on having a go at one for our winter. Unfortunately I missed the mesh on their stand, but as you know I have plenty of fabric to work with 🙂

    • Janis March 17, 2011 at 9:00 AM #

      Sharon, are you home? I need to go to your blog:=)

Leave a Reply

