Reporting on Sew Expo, Puyallup

8 Mar

Sew Expo – exciting, creative, inspiring, and exhausting!  It will take me a few days to recover. Fortunately, my foot held out well, and I was able to navigate the fairgrounds without issue.

I took some wonderful classes, and was fortunate that not one of them was a dud.  When I was teaching, I would take lots of workshops to either brush up on my teaching skills, or to learn new ones.  I would consider a workshop successful if I took just one thing away from it that I could use immediately in my teaching.  So, I’d like to go through each workshop and highlight the one lesson that I will probably use right away.

1.  Cutting Through the Red Tape, Louise Cutting:  This class was on measuring the body and a little bit about making alterations.  I took several things away from this excellent class, but the most important one for me was the sloping shoulder measurement.  There are two body points you need here: one is the shoulder point, which is made by raising your arm parallel to the floor and then finding that little indent where the shoulder meets the arm; the other is the point on the spine right at the waistline.  Measure between these two points and compare this measurement with the pattern. Lower or raise the slope of shoulder seam accordingly.

Another little tidbit I learned from this class is to measure the width of the shoulder from the base of the neck to the little shoulder indent.  I had been measuring across the back from shoulder point to shoulder point.  Maybe that’s why my shoulder seams never come out just right!

2.  Linda Lee’s class on design for young and old – can’t remember the exact title:  I learned a great tweak for the Hudson pants, and if you are a Sewing Workshop fan, you will want to take note.  The Hudson’s can be made into harem-style pants by simply adding a band to the bottom.  Here is Erin from The Sewing Workshop in a pair she made:

You could make the band any width you want, and if you want the pants a little “blousier”, you could just lengthen them and then put the band on.  Cool!

3.  The Arty Cardi by Marcy Tilton:  Marcy, I love you, pure and simple!  Now I know how to make my favorite t-shirt, which is Vogue 8582, into a cardi (actually, you can make any t-shirt into a cardi with these instructions).

First, you make fresh pattern pieces, then you deepen the armhole by adding 1/2 to 3/4 inches at the shoulder seam.  Add 1/2″ or more (per your preference) at the side seams. For a plain front opening, you add 2 3/4″ to the center front (make sure you mark the center front on the pattern).  Draw another line 5/8″ from the center front – that is the fold line.  Interface, making sure the interfacing goes through the fold line.  Press the fold and make the top buttonhole BEFORE sewing on the neck-band (I thought this was the coolest tip). Voila!

I think that’s enough for today.  My next post will be about Katherine Tiltons Arty T class and the Babylock Serger class.  I’ll also include pics of my Marcy Tilton fabric purchases and my plans for them.

3 Responses to “Reporting on Sew Expo, Puyallup”

  1. velosewer March 25, 2011 at 5:25 PM #

    Even my one dud class I took, made me think outside the square.

  2. Sue March 8, 2011 at 11:37 PM #

    Excellent tips.

  3. Kathleen March 8, 2011 at 9:28 PM #

    Love that shoulder slope measurement technique. I always struggle with fitting my square shoulders and this is a new checkpoint for me to try. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

