My Sew Expo “Outfit” and Second Jacket for JAM

3 Mar

 

Pamela’s Patterns Jacket and Marcy Tilton Pants

I really didn’t think I was going to get this done.  I just did not have any sewing mojo at all. But I kept on sewing, and pretty soon some desire to sew returned, which is a lesson learned.

The cardigan is Pamela’s Patterns new Shaped Cardigan.  I made it with a double-sided wool sweater knit; one side is chocolate-brown, and the other side is a sort of brown/copper metallic.  I didn’t take enough advantage of the double-sidedness of the fabric, but I couldn’t find a better pattern that appealed to me.  I modified it a bit, since I was using the metallic side as the public side, and I wanted to show some of the chocolate side.  I turned up the sleeve edges to make a cuff.  I decided to stitch down the cuff so I wouldn’t have to deal with it falling down.

The pattern calls for some elastic at the center back neck edge, in order to create some ruching so that the center front will have a flowing look to it.  Unless you have the kind of elastic that you can sew through without stretching out, this will not work.  In the case of my fabric, it probably would not have worked anyway, because the fabric is too thick.  I tried several different elastics that I had on hand, and then I tried to use two lines of gathering stitches to gather it up for a ruching effect, but neither technique worked, so I ended up just sort of bunching it up and stitching it by hand.

I probably should have done a narrow shoulder adjustment on this cardigan.  I’m still having trouble measuring my shoulders and comparing them to a pattern.  Hopefully, I’ll figure that out soon.  I used the extra-small size with the full-bust option for the front.  There are no darts, but there is some easing in the bust area, and this looks very nice.  I believe it is Shams who uses this technique on some of her tops, and I do like it.

When I was finished with the jacket it looked sort of plain, so I put one buttonhole/button on the front as a closure.

I am so in love with the Marcy Tilton, Vogue 8712 pants.  I made view C without the zipper.  I actually put the zipper in, then took it out.  It was just too fussy for me with the ponte fabric I was using.  If I use a woven to make these pants (which I probably will), I’ll put in the zipper. Instead, I used Katherine Tilton’s method of putting in an elastic waist, which is my favorite (see link at right).  It always comes out neat and tidy.

I used the size 8, even though the envelope measurements would have me in a 10.  These pants have a lot of ease, so if you plan to make them you’ll need to decide how baggy you want them to be.  I added 1 1/2 inches to the crotch, which is a normal adjustment for me, but I won’t do that with the next pair, especially if they are made out of a knit fabric.

I love both of these patterns, and like the way they turned out.  Each pattern has a second view, and I look forward to making both of them.  The second view of the Marcy Tilton pattern has more ease than view C, so I’m curious how they’ll turn out.

I’m going to Sew Expo on Saturday and Sunday.  Surgery is on Thursday, so I don’t know how much sewing I”ll be doing in the near future.  Hopefully, this surgery will be easier than the last and I will be able to do some sewing, but I’m still going to have that cast on, so I probably won’t sew until I get it off (one month).

Next up will be a report on Sew Expo, and my one day excursion with my new Aussie sewing friends.  Stay tuned.

4 Responses to “My Sew Expo “Outfit” and Second Jacket for JAM”

  1. Sue March 7, 2011 at 3:08 AM #

    What a gorgeous jacket, the fabric is lovely.

  2. Linda T March 4, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    Wonderful outfit! You look fantastic wearing it. I need to try those pants one day!

  3. sdBev March 3, 2011 at 10:39 PM #

    This is lovely and so you. To get my shoulder right, I used a blouse pattern with short sleeve. I made a dart and just kept basting it in a little more until I was satisfied. I do need a slightly longer length for woven than knit fabrics; slightly more for jackets than for blouses/tops; and again slightly more for a coat. The more layers the garment has to cover, the longer my shoulder needs to be. I add about 1/4″ for each change.

  4. Sharon March 3, 2011 at 7:30 PM #

    Love the jacket and the pants look good as well.

    First day at Expo and tired but good. Spent some money at Marcy Tilton’s stand.

Leave a Reply

