Uh, Oh, It’s Sew Expo Time

22 Feb

With everything that has been going on in my life, I didn’t realize how close the Puyallup Sew Expo is.  It starts a week from Wednesday or Thursday.  I’m not going until Saturday, but still, there’s not a lot of time left.  I wanted to sew a few “outfits” to wear, but I’m not sure how much I’m going to get done.  My plan is to make these Vogue 8712, Marcy Tilton pants.

I’m sewing the large picture view, which is longer (the model is tall) than it looks in the picture. I cut out a size 8, and added 1.5 inches to the crotch, which (so far) is the only adjustment I am making.  I’m using a brown ponte knit from Marcy Tilton.  It’s pretty beefy, which I like in a knit for pants.

To go with these pants, I’m using this fabric from Emma One Sock

to make this Pamela’s Patterns cardigan.

The fabric is a thick, double-sided knit.  One side is a copper metallic, and the other side is brown.  It is gorgeous!

I’ll need to do a narrow shoulder adjustment, but other than that, this cardi should be a breeze.  I hope to get these two easy pieces done by Expo.

I’m taking two Marcy and Katherine Tilton classes.  One is “The Artsy T”.  Lord knows I need all the help I can get in the “artsy” department. I can’t remember what the other class is, but I’m sure it will be great.

I’m also very excited about a Babylock Serger class I’m taking. Basically, all I do with my serger is overlock seam edges.  My Imagine does so many things that I’ve never done.  I’m hoping to come away a serger whiz.

I plan to hook up with some Stitcher’s Guild friends at Expo this year. Folks are coming all the way from Australia!

2 Responses to “Uh, Oh, It’s Sew Expo Time”

  1. Alison February 24, 2011 at 3:02 AM #

    I’m also doing the Arty T & Arty cardi classes. Should be fun! Looking forward to meeting you. 🙂

  2. Sharon February 22, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

    Yes we are 🙂

    I hope I get to see that cardi in real life as the fabric looks stunning. I am doing the Arty Cardi class and the hands on with the coverstich machine plus a heap more.

Leave a Reply

