Saying Good-Bye

20 Feb

What a crazy four months it’s been!  First of all, I had surgery on November 4th.  Silly me, I thought that because I was having surgery on my left foot, I would still be able to sew.  Not so much!  I had a full cast on my leg, and had to keep it elevated.  It was difficult getting around on crutches, and I soon realized that sewing is about more than just sitting at the sewing machine. Needless to say, all my great plans for a winter wardrobe flew out the window.  My foot is getting better…still not 100 percent, but better.

Then my sewing buddy, Gayle Saylor, also known as stashpanache on many sewing and knitting sites, passed away after a long battle with cancer.  She was a favorite of so many on Stitchers Guild because she cultivated and cherished the friends she made there.  She was always a positive presence on the site, and never failed to give an encouraging comment to brighten someone’s day. Gayle and I purchased our dress forms on the same day and had planned on helping one another fit the forms to our bodies.  She was waiting for me to get better, so we could make a day of it.  Sadly, she passed before we had the chance.  Rest in peace, lovely lady.

Finally, my sister had congestive heart failure right after Gayle died.  I flew to Savannah, where she was in CCU at St. Joseph’s/Candler Hospital.  She had been on a respirator, but by the time I got there, she was breathing on her own.  For a few days, she looked like she might recover. Unfortunately, she took a turn for the worse and we transferred her to Hospice Savannah to live out her last week on this earth.  She died peacefully, surrounded by her loved ones, on Friday, February 18th.  I love you and miss you, Sis.

I’m going to spend the next few days recovering, then I’ll be ready to sew again.  I did make this Marcy Tilton jacket for the Stitcher’s Guild JAM (jacket-a-month):

 

I’m working on a pair of slim jeans in a brown denim.  I’d like to get some things done for the Puyallup Sewing Expo in March, but that date is creeping up on me.  We’ll see how it goes.

8 Responses to “Saying Good-Bye”

  1. velosewer March 25, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    Hi Janis. This jacket looked really special on you. I’m really pleased that we met up and I know Gayle would have also been a special person to know. Hugs. Maria.

  2. Janis February 22, 2011 at 7:58 AM #

    You are all so sweet. Thanks so much for your condolences. It really means a lot to me.

  3. Zippianna February 21, 2011 at 10:54 PM #

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your beloved friend and your beloved sister. May you be sustained by your memories of both of them and your time on this earth together. May you heal in mind, heart as well as your own body.

    Take care of yourself Janis
    Peace and Love to you

  4. Sue February 20, 2011 at 11:10 PM #

    I’m so sorry to hear of the death of your sister and close friend. Thinking of you at this time.

  5. Gorgeous Things February 20, 2011 at 6:54 PM #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your sister. Stash was such a loss, and to lose your sister on top of that I can only send hugs and good thoughts to you. I hope your foot recovers quickly.

  6. Robin February 20, 2011 at 5:38 PM #

    Janis, I am so sorry about the loss of your sister. Losing Gayle must be so hard, too, knowing you and she had plans. On top of all that, you’ve had that painful foot surgery and recovery. I hope spring brings new equilibrium for you. Lovely jacket – very pretty and stylish. Enjoy wearing it.

  7. shams February 20, 2011 at 5:38 PM #

    I am so sorry you’ve had such a rough time of it. It was so sad to lose Stash and I can’t imagine losing your sister. Get better!!

  8. Dee Child February 20, 2011 at 4:44 PM #

    I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your sister & close frined. I will keep you in my prayers for healing. You are a sewing inspiration to me–I am so glad you’re back posting again.

Leave a Reply

