Back from Italy

14 Oct

It was a wonderful trip!  We had a few unexpected delays and canceled flights, but it all adds to the adventure. Rick Steves says “when traveling, be eternally optimistic”, and I agree. Forevermore, I have the story of the 48 hour trip from Pisa to Portland. We’ve made another memory. Honestly, if you can’t look at it that way, then it’s probably best not to travel.

I have lots of pictures of lovely Italian ladies to post once I go through them. There were some fashion surprises for me on this trip. For one, Italian women are not taking to the mega-platform-spike heel look as I thought they would be. I saw maybe a handful of those torture devices in my travels and that’s about all. It appears that even the über fashion-conscious Italians are rejecting them. Perhaps if I had been in Milan, I would have seen more. Or maybe they are just so last year. I have no idea.

I did see flats. Lots and lots of flats, including flat boots. Cowboy boots with small heels were popular. Middle-age women were wearing flats or small, chunky heels. Converse-type tennis shoes were everywhere on younger women. Also, rubber rain boots are definitely popular. Leather riding-type boots that either come up to the knee or go over the knee are ubiquitous.

I didn’t see much in the way of leggings, unless worn with boots. Leggings with boots is definitely a look, but leggings without boots or with short tops, not so much.

Speaking of Italian style, you really can’t find an Italian in the fall without a scarf. Everyone wears scarves, men and women, and they tie them in many different ways. So, I want to go back to the infinity scarf and answer a question posted by Sheila when I was on my trip. She asked if the measurements for the infinity scarf were correct, basically 60″ X 1 1/2 yards minus a very small rolled seam. The answer is yes. That is how I made my scarves. They come out very “chunky” with these measurements, but you could alter the measurements to suite your style. You could make the scarf longer by using 2 yards of fabric, and make it narrower by using a narrower width. It’s up to you, but the 60″X 1 1/2 yards does work. I hope that answers your question, Sheila.

Time for me to do all those things one does after a trip:  recover from jet-lag, unpack, do laundry, answer phone messages, go grocery shopping, go to the gym (ugh!). More later.

12 Responses to “Back from Italy”

  1. Terri K October 17, 2010 at 6:44 AM #

    Glad you are back and thanks for the wonderful report Janis. Would love to see photos of you and your travel wardrobe on location! Re the shoes, I remember when visiting Ferragamo and their museum in Florence, they said they send all the narrow shoes to America. Italians don’t compromise comfort for the latest trend. You definitely would have seen more women wearing trendy styles in Rome or Milan. Flats are all I can wear these days and I’m glad to be able to walk short distances unaided. My goal is to be able to do another Italy trip next fall!

    • Janis October 17, 2010 at 9:10 AM #

      Thanks for the comment, Terri. Glad you are feeling better and I hope you can make that trip next fall.

      Yes, it does seem the Italians like comfort, after all.

  2. Stash October 16, 2010 at 8:41 PM #

    Just checking and see you are home. Sorry about a 48 hour return trip but you are so right…travel requires a sense of humor and joie de vivre. 😉 Can hardly wait to hear your stories/memories.

    Oh, happy dance! Flats are in, at least in Italy!

    I wanted to ask that question re the scarf too. Was uncertain whether you serged off the selvedge or not?

    And, am anxious to find out if you felt “well dressed” and if you were happy with the pieces you chose to create or whether you would add or subtract other pieces etc? It looked so good, I can’t imagine you were anything but happy with it??? 😉 Looking forward to photos.

    • Janis October 17, 2010 at 9:12 AM #

      Hi Stash,

      I did feel well-dressed, and that made me very happy. It is very satisfying to feel well-dressed in a wardrobe I made myself. Yay!

      Let’s get together for a dummy marathon this week, okay? I’ll call you.

  3. RuthieK October 15, 2010 at 12:37 AM #

    Looking forward to more pictures and comments from your trip!

    • Janis October 17, 2010 at 9:13 AM #

      Thanks Ruthie…more to come.

  4. Leslie Bonner October 14, 2010 at 4:20 PM #

    Welcome back Jan,
    So sorry to hear about your 48 hour return trip. I thought our 24 hour return trip from Paris to SF was grueling but you won! Like what you observed, I saw few women navigating the streets of Paris with heels. Scarves were everywhere with both women and men.

    • Janis October 17, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

      Leslie, DH was actually sick by the time we got home, but we are finally recuperating. Alas, we are not as young as we use to be!

  5. Sharon October 14, 2010 at 3:15 PM #

    Ah new memories that it what travelling is all about. Can’t wait to see/hear your fashion report and how did your travel wardrobe work out?

    • Janis October 17, 2010 at 9:16 AM #

      Yes, Sharon, and you will be having some new memories soon. How’s the wardrobe coming?

  6. artbeth October 14, 2010 at 10:04 AM #

    Welcome back! I’m a lurker who took a great interest in your travel wardrobe progress. I’m looking forward to your trip/fashion report.

    • Janis October 17, 2010 at 9:16 AM #

      Thanks for reading my blog. Come back often!

Leave a Reply

