Combating Jet Lag and Other Trip Goals

28 Sep

We leave for Pisa, Italy on Thursday, so this will be my last post before the trip. I have spent the last few days preparing for jet lag.  I’m one of those people who gets slammed to the point of completely missing the first two days of an overseas trip.  I usually feel like someone just dropped me off on Mars and expected me to function without a space suit.

It’s such a waste of adventure, not to mention money, to miss days of a trip due to jet lag, so I try to prepare in advance.  Through trial and error, I have figured out what works for me, so maybe it will help someone else.

About five days before an overseas trip (eastbound), I start going to bed one hour earlier each night and getting up one hour earlier each day.  This is the fourth day, so I will go to bed at 6:00 pm tonight and get up tomorrow morning at 2:00 am.  Last night, I went to bed at 7:00 pm and got up this morning at 3:00 am.  For westbound travel, you would reverse the process and go to bed one hour later each day.

Am I tired?  Oh, you betcha!  I think what really happens with this scheme is that I get the jet lag over with before I go, so that I can enjoy my trip when I get there.  It really works, though, so I’m not complaining.

Some other things I do for jet lag are to drink lots of water on the flight, limit my food intake, walk around the plane a bit, and try to get some sleep.  I try to stay out in the sun as long as possible when I get to my destination.  If I do all of those things,  I can usually stay up until bedtime (overseas time) the first day, which is the main goal.  After a good first night’s sleep, I’m fine.

So, now that I’ve overcome jet lag, what are my other goals for the trip?  I have a list of all the things I want to see, the food I want to eat (it IS Italy, after all), and the places I want to shop for fabric.  But, one of the things I’ve decided to do while I’m there this time is to take as many pictures of middle-aged, Italian women as I can.

Italian women are the style icons of the planet, but every time I tried to find pictures of middle-aged, Italian women when I was planning my travel wardrobe, I ran into a dead-end.  It seems that those lovely, middle-aged women are as invisible as we middle-aged, American women…sigh!

I know I’ll have to be careful when taking the pictures.  I don’t want to look like I’m stalking these poor ladies.  I do hope, however, to have enough pictures to post here, so that we can all get style ideas from them.  I think it will be fun.

It’s a two-week trip, so I’ll “see” you all when I return.

8 Responses to “Combating Jet Lag and Other Trip Goals”

  1. KathleenB September 30, 2010 at 3:26 PM #

    I can’t wait for your post trip posts and photos. Be sure to take photos of yourself in your stunning travel wardrobe! Have a wonderful time and come home full of style inspiration for us!

  2. Debra Martin September 29, 2010 at 7:41 PM #

    Janis,
    What a great idea to take pictures of stylish middle aged women. I can’t way to see them. I hope you get lots of beautiful fabric and lots of inspiration! Have a safe and fun trip.
    :)Deb M.

  3. RuthieK September 29, 2010 at 1:31 PM #

    Perhaps learn the Italian for ‘I admire your style, may I take your photograph’. Cool tip. Apparently not eating much is a good idea, as meals resynch the body or something.

    • Janis September 29, 2010 at 1:50 PM #

      Funny, Ruthie, I was just going through my Italian phrase book, trying to find, “Can I speak to you in English?”;)

  4. sdBev September 29, 2010 at 1:15 PM #

    Have a fun trip. We’ll be anxiously waiting for your return

  5. Leslie Bonner September 29, 2010 at 4:38 AM #

    Jan,
    Have a lovely trip, eat well and find beautiful fabric. This is our last day of two weeks in Paris and I am dreading the trip home. I love your idea of photographing Italian women. Actually, for all of the talk of chic French women, I have seen very few. I am wondering if the dressing down spreading?
    Bon Voyage,
    Leslie (lessalt)

  6. Sharon September 29, 2010 at 1:45 AM #

    Have a fantastic trip and thank you for the tip with jetlag.

    • Janis September 29, 2010 at 2:52 AM #

      Sharon, that plan works for eastward travel. If you are traveling west, you must reverse the process by going to bed one hour later and getting up one hour later each day.

Leave a Reply

