The Travel Wardrobe Completed

18 Sep

The travel wardrobe is finally finished. Rifinito!  De finition!  Absolutely done!

It was a great sewing experience for me, and I learned a lot through the process.  For one thing, I have some new TNT patterns that are fitted perfectly to my body.  That alone was enough to make the whole endeavor worth it.

These are the patterns I used that are now TNT:

Loes Hinse Oxford Pants:

This is the top pattern I used for most of the tops.  It’s Vogue 8323:

Also, I used up some stash (of course, let’s not mention how many fabric shopping sprees I went on).  So, here are a few pictures of the various pieces, mixed and matched up to a point.  Please use your imagination for the rest.


Some other patterns that were used were the Vogue 8585 Marcy Tilton asymmetrical top, which is also a TNT but I knew that before I started this project.  The skirt is Butterick 3134, which is a lovely skirt pattern that I’ve made long and short, with and without elastic and zipper at the waist.  You can do pretty much anything with this pattern.

All in all, I think I have a comfortable travel wardrobe that is a step above the American shorts, t-shirt, and sneaker travel look.  Hopefully, it will pack small and withstand the rigors of the suite case.  I may have to do some touch up ironing on the road, but not too much.  After all, the whole purpose is to enjoy this fabulous trip to Italy.

9 Responses to “The Travel Wardrobe Completed”

  1. yahoodiary.com February 12, 2013 at 10:17 AM #

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your rss
    feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  2. Bobbie Koriakin September 27, 2010 at 3:21 PM #

    What a great wardrobe…you have really inspired me!! I love the colors and effortless ,chic look!

  3. RuthieK September 23, 2010 at 12:02 AM #

    Hey looks really good! Sort of relaxed but smart if you know what I mean. Have a fabulous trip!!

  4. VTMartha September 21, 2010 at 4:35 PM #

    Gorgeous collection, Janis. I am most impressed! Have a great trip.
    Martha

    • Janis September 22, 2010 at 9:13 AM #

      Thanks so much, Martha! I fully intend to have a great trip and I’ll post some pics when I return.

  5. Karen Saieed September 20, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

    Janis,

    I have overcome by your stylish, boutique-esque travel wardrobe. Each one of these garments really resembles an elegant RTW garment of high quality/pricetag/fit. I realize that each item was not “cheap to construct” but the results are in the top range. You look so smart in each garment that i am thrilled for you. Enjoy Italy and your travel wardrobe.

    • Janis September 20, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

      Karen,

      Thanks so much. I so appreciate your comments. Can you see me blush? 😉

  6. KathleenB September 19, 2010 at 1:19 PM #

    Janis your perfect travel wardrobe should serve you well! My favorite outfit is the Marcy Tilton top with the taupe pants: so elegant! I can’t wait to hear how everything works out, have a fabulous trip. I was wondering if you were taking any outerwear…. always an issue for me.

    • Janis September 19, 2010 at 2:19 PM #

      Yes, Kathleen, I am taking a rain jacket. I’m taking a few other things than the ones I posted, I just didn’t make them. But for the most part, this is it. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

