Winter Wardrobe Planning

16 Sep

I know I haven’t posted lately, but I really have been busy sewing.  I just need to get my DH in one spot long enough to take some pictures of the travel wardrobe.  For all practical purposes, it’s finished.  And just in the nick of time, because I’m REALLY tired of sewing knits.

Since I don’t want to talk about the travel wardrobe too much until I have the pics, I decided to post about some winter sewing ideas.  First of all, you must understand that I’m planning a rather laid back fall.  I’m having foot surgery in November, after the Italy trip.  I’ll be limited to gimping around the house for about two weeks.  The good news?  The surgery will be done on my non-sewing left foot.  Yes!  So, I plan on doing a lot of sewing.

Stitcher’s Guild is having a winter 6-pack sew along, so I’m going through my stash, thinking about what I have and what I need.  One thing I really want to sew is a Mizono jacket I saw today at an ASG luncheon.  It’s this one:

I would never have looked twice at this pattern, but when I saw it in person, I fell in love with it.  And Shams, if you read this, this jacket should definitely be on your radar!  It has an asymmetrical collar and that crazy zig-zag button action.

I actually saw two of these made up, one in a polyester fabric, and another in a waterproof fabric from Rose City Textiles.  Both were lovely.

That will be my layering piece, unless I change my mind.  I want my winter 6-pack to be casual, and I have some brown and blue denim I need to sew up.  They will probably be skirts because I love to wear skirts and tights in the winter, and I hate to wear jeans.  I’ll need some woven tops, as well – and some cardigans, of course.  That’s about the extent of the plan, so far.

Hopefully, I’ll get my travel wardrobe pics together on Saturday.  I’ll post them and talk about the trials and tribulations (and there were many) of sewing the collection.  Until then – ciao!

Leave a Reply

