Marvin Minsky Was Here

7 Aug

If you’ve been reading my blog awhile, you may have noticed the quote on the side bar from Marvin Minsky, “You don’t understand anything until you learn it more than one way”. When I first saw this quote, I thought it was applicable to so many areas of my life: sewing, teaching, fitness, cooking, relationships…I could go on and on.

Marvin Minsky is a philosopher and scientist at MIT.  He is considered one of the leading authorities in the field of artificial intelligence.  Amazingly, he was the one who built the SNARC, the first neural network simulator.  I think this is code for “artificial brain” (my term).

One of the reasons I wanted to tell you about Dr. Minsky’s visit to ye old sewing blog was because he shared with me/us that he has done some sewing, but mainly likes to crochet lengths of rope together.  Here is a picture of a tie he made at the last-minute in order to be appropriately dressed at a conference:

I thought this was wonderful, and wanted to share it with you.  I hope Dr. Minsky doesn’t mind. Here is his original comment.

Thanks for dropping by, Dr. Minsky!

Leave a Reply

