Update on October Travel Wardrobe

4 Aug

I’m sewing away on my travel wardrobe for Italy.  I’ve had some failures, of course.  One was a Loes Hinse Ascot jacket that I didn’t like.  Really, nothing else was wrong with it, except that I just didn’t like it.

One thing I don’t like about Loes Hinse jackets is the fact that they aren’t lined, but you have to put shoulder pads in them.  They don’t have interfacing, they are supposed to have a cardigan look, but you have to put shoulder pads in them.  All of that just doesn’t work for me.  If I’m wearing a cardigan, I don’t want shoulder pads.  If I’m wearing a jacket, I want it a little more structured.  And if  a jacket has shoulder pads, I want lining.  Suffice it to say, these jackets aren’t working for me.

The next failure was a sweater-type cardigan I made with some Emma One Sock fabric.  I’m usually pretty happy with EOS fabrics, but this one was described as a “sweater knit”, and it was.  However, it was heavier than I thought it would be and it was felted, which was a surprise.  I should have just put it away until winter, but once I get something in my head, it’s hard to turn back.  I tried to make a cardigan I had made before with a very thin sweater knit, and it just didn’t work.  Moving on :).

Here is an updated view of the plan:

I’ve added lots of knit tops to the wardrobe, and changed some other things around.  So far, I’ve made a skirt and pants in the black rayon, and the Onion cardigan and Silhouette pants in the taupe ponte knit. Also, I’ve made the white Hearts A’Flutter shell.

It’s August 4th and I have about two months to go.  Better get sewing!

6 Responses to “Update on October Travel Wardrobe”

  1. Marvin Minsky August 4, 2010 at 10:28 PM #

    Thanks, Jan, for posting that quote.

    I sometimes sew, but mostly make things by crocheting loops of rope,
    like this tie on my daughter’s website:

    http://xenia.media.mit.edu/~marg/marvin-rope-work.html

    I wear it with a matching Kevlar belt that one could use to tow a car, climb a cliff, or pull someone out of quicksand (which actually happened once!).

    • Janis August 7, 2010 at 7:15 AM #

      How cool to have the author of that quote post! Thanks for saying it, Marvin! It’s so true. And to think that you sew, as well. Sewing can inspire anyone to think deeply about the learning process!

      I love your tie! I can just picture it with the Kevlar belt. It sounds like you’ve had an interesting life.

  2. Leslie Bonner August 4, 2010 at 11:05 AM #

    Janis,
    So sorry about the failures but it sounds like you are doing great. My trip to Paris is in September and I have done anything except work on a coat which I might not even take (because it turned out a little heavier than I’d planned). So, you are far ahead of me. Loes’ jackets do not work for me either.

    • Janis August 4, 2010 at 2:12 PM #

      Leslie, I’m so glad to hear that someone else has trouble with Loes jackets. I thought I was just not getting it somehow. Anyway, good luck on your travel wardrobe. I’m sure you are faster at sewing than I am. You’ll probably finish on time. Sorry about the coat. I find it very difficult trying to determine the correct weight of clothing for a fall journey.

  3. sdBev August 4, 2010 at 10:46 AM #

    Janis I make huge facings. Both my front and back facings extend out to the armscye at least from the shoulder and about 1″ down. If I disliked the shoulder pads as you do, I would make the facings 3″ long front and back. That way there is a little more stability across the back and shoulders and the pads are covered.

    • Janis August 4, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

      I’m going to have to give that some thought, Bev. I may need a schematic :).

Leave a Reply

