All About Color

27 Jul

I’ve been reading a book about color called The Color of Style, by David Zyla.  This book is pretty detailed regarding how to find your best colors, and I do like that part of the it. However, some of his ideas about when to wear what color, and what it will do for your image…well, it’s a bit esoteric.  I mean, can wearing a color really make you look confident, or friendly, or powerful?  To some, maybe.

There is a part of the book devoted to eye color that really interests me, though. According to Zyla, you will look good in any of the colors in your eye, and most people do have several colors in there.  There was a discussion on Stitcher’s Guild about this, and leave it to those clever girls to find  a color conversion chart where you can upload an image and the conversion chart will tell you exactly what colors are in the image.

I took a picture of my eye and uploaded it to this conversion chart.  I included a little skin because, according to Zyla, you can also wear some colors in your skin and veins.  Here is the result of my color conversion:

The eyeball is pretty creepy, granted, but the color information is useful.  I couldn’t help giggling at the thought of all of us (we?) women from Stitcher’s Guild sitting around our houses with cameras, taking pictures of our eyeballs.

It looks like I am basically a brown/gray girl, with some shades of pink thrown in.  I instinctively knew that chocolate-brown was a good color on me, but that rusty color is new.  I just bought some fabric from Emma One Sock in that color, and I’ll be making a jacket for winter out of it.

I’d love to hear from anyone who gives this a try.

3 Responses to “All About Color”

  1. myheart4him September 13, 2010 at 7:01 PM #

    I tried it. See my palette here: http://wp.me/p7vrC-dR
    Shannon of My Heart 4 Him

  2. Shams July 27, 2010 at 9:21 AM #

    Janis, this is SO cool! I am going to try this as well. Do you happen to have the exact link, or name of the thread on Stitcher’s Guild? I tried searching for it and can’t find it. I don’t remember this discussion.

Leave a Reply

