Another Wadder

8 Jul

It kept staring at me, waiting for me to do something with it.  Every time I walked into my sewing room, there it was, begging for some attention.  At first I thought I could fix it.  After all, it had been going so well, luring me into thinking I was doing a great sewing job (I must, at the very least, be an intermediate sewist by now, since this is turning out so well and it’s so detailed and all).  All my bubbles of grandeur burst, however, when I made the fateful decision to serge.

So, here is the dress I was attempting to sew for Elisha, my  future daughter-in-law:

There’s a lot of detail on the bodice, especially in the front.  There is piping, gathering, and facing for all this on the back.  Here’s what the back side of the front bodice looked like:

So far so good.  But I was getting worried at this point, because all that fabric created an edge that was over a quarter of an inch thick.  I should have stopped at this point and consulted some of the wonderful mentors on the links at the right… but no!  I decided to serge the edges!  Ack!  The serger basically ate up the edges of this lovely dress.  In fact, I can’t even talk about it any more.  Suffice it to say, I ended up tossing it because I couldn’t stand to look at it one minute more!

I remember a dear Stitcher’s Guild member, Liana, talking about accidentally putting a hole in a garment, and having to go lie down.  Yep, that’s how I felt.  So, I’m not going to be changing the tag on my sewingpatterns.com bio from beginner to intermediate any time soon.

Today, I sent Elisha the gray Hot Patterns dress that looked like h*** on me.  I’m sure it will look much better on her.

Frustration!

Leave a Reply

