Mood Fabrics

9 May

Last weekend, we visited our son, Matthew, and his fiance, Elisha, in Los Angeles.  Fortunately, Elisha enjoys fabric as much as I do, so I didn’t have to twist her arm to accompany me to Mood Fabrics.  Neither of us had been before, and it was well worth the trip.  Here is some of the eye candy:

Yards and yards of ribbon and trim.

This is just a teensy part of the button section.  There was actually

a mini-room full of button boxes like this.  I don’t know why I didn’t get a better picture.

Zippers, zippers, and more zippers!

At this point, Elisha and I were totally overwhelmed!

We didn’t have a clue what to buy!

We finally chose some fabric and took it to the cutting table.  I had an interesting conversation with the woman there about Project Runway.  She said that Mila lives in L.A. and comes into the store all the time.  She actually showed us some fabric that Mila recently purchased; and yes, it was black and white.

I loved this store, but then I haven’t had much experience with high-end and large fabric stores.  I’m sure some of you have seen much better stores than this, but for me, Mood was thrilling.

Goodbye Mood!

3 Responses to “Mood Fabrics”

  1. Carolyn June 1, 2010 at 11:58 AM #

    I have a friend that travels with a fabric shopping list so that when she goes to one of these stores, she has an idea of what she’s looking for. I think it’s wise because they can be intimidating if you are not use to that many choices. I’m glad you got to visit it and it looks remarkably similar to the one in NYC!

  2. nanflan May 9, 2010 at 5:02 PM #

    Will you be showing off the fabric soon? Sounds like you had a nice time. I’ve had the same experience with fancy fabric stores–so many choices that it almost produces paralysis.

    • Janis May 9, 2010 at 5:52 PM #

      Nan, the funny thing was that I just bought some unexciting linen. It was an unusual color, though. Actually, I was so confused about what to buy, that I bought the linen just so I could say I bought something at Mood. I did get a nice Mood bag for free:)

Leave a Reply

