The Evil Tights

5 Mar

What could be so difficult about putting on tights? Ha! Little did I know that putting on tights would lie me out flat for a few days. Lesson learned: Don’t put tights on while standing up (especially if you have a sore back to begin with).  I really don’t want to learn this more than one way.  I’m quite satisfied that I’ve learned it well enough!

So there goes my sewing for a few days! All I can do is lie here and think about sewing…oh,and shopping. DH has no clue how dangerous it is for me to have nothing to do but surf the web. This is what I’ve come up with so far:

Emma One Sock

Lovely, no?  I’m thinking of an Eileen Fisher-type cardigan (such as The Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket) in the seafoam knit.  Or maybe something simple, like this Onion cardigan: I’ ll work up some sort of shell (like the new Louis Cutting shell) for the silk sheer. I need to find a pant weight fabric in a taupe color, and voila…another outfit!

2 Responses to “The Evil Tights”

  1. Karen March 11, 2010 at 7:51 AM #

    Ah Janis, we both love those blue/brown combos! I like the Onion pattern as a better option, slimming.

    And don’t feel bad about the tights. In the early 80s I threw my back out standing up putting on pantyhose and it ended my up in the hospital for a week and physical therapy a few more beyond that and months of trepidation bending or moving the same way. No one realizes how hazardous those things are until a pantyhose/tights related injury happens!

    • Janis March 11, 2010 at 3:52 PM #

      Karen, I’m in a real brown phase right now. Blue is just coming along for the ride, but I do like the combo.

      I had to laugh about tights and pantyhose being “hazardous”. They are indeed, but whoda thunk?

Leave a Reply

