Eureka Pant First Muslin

9 Jul

Not bad, huh?  This is the first muslin before any adjustments.  The darts are not sewn in yet.  Perhaps I should do that now, but I wanted to get some feedback from you first.

This is what I see, beginning with the first pic:

1.  Looks like my right hip is higher than my left.  It’s causing the horizontal balance line (HBL) to go up slightly on that side (I’ve decided this is a camera angle issue) The verticle lines look fairly straight (maybe a little bowed on the right side, which may have something to do with the hip issue).  There are some diagonal pull lines on the bottom right leg, but I think that’s just because I cuffed the bottom and its pulling a little.  Also, there is some extra fabric at the front crotch.

2.  The back is pretty amazing, I think.  There are some diagonal drag lines on the right leg.  I tend to hyper-extend my knees, so I’m wondering if that has something to do with it.  The HBL’s look okay, which makes me wonder about the high hip thing.  Maybe I’m just seeing things on the first pic.

3.  The left side view is interesting.  It looks like the HBL’s are tilting downward from the back to the front – the top HBL being the most noticeable.  The side seam looks straight enough.

4.  The right side view is the same as the left – the top HBL is tilting downward from the back to the front.  The side seam looks good here, too.  The diagonal pull lines continue on the right side of the leg.

The nice thing about the pattern instructions is that once I determine what the issues are, the instructions will tell me what to do about it.  So, I don’t need any advice YET on what to do.  I just need observations on what is wrong.  Thanks so much for your help.  I look forward to your comments.

8 Responses to “Eureka Pant First Muslin”

  1. CherryPix July 11, 2013 at 1:51 AM #

    Very impressive. I’ve just been reading Sarah Veblen’s fitting book…she talks a lot about HBL…and I can see why, from the great analysis they’ve provided with these pants! Nice work!

    • Janis July 11, 2013 at 6:50 AM #

      Yes, it seems that the HBL is very important. In fact, I’m changing out back 1 for back 2. That’s because the HBL dips slightly in the middle back, and if I adjust to make the HBL straight, I get a bit of a wedgie. Instructions say to either go up a size overall or use the next size back. Pictures to come.

  2. Sandra July 10, 2013 at 9:16 AM #

    Wow, you are at an excellent point with your first muslin. Congrats! I thought that you were standing at a tile (something I seem to do), but on second glance I think it’s the camera angle. Those drawn-on horizontal and vertical lines really help, don’t they? One question: Do they feel better if you pull up the front center? If yes, and that doesn’t cause any problems (folds, wrinkles anywhere else), that might (might, only might) indicate that the waistline center front is a bit high, rather than needing to change the cr0tch. As I understand it, once we get the cr* just right, we should stop messing with it. :) Keep us posted; I am always learning more, about pants fitting in particular.

    • Janis July 10, 2013 at 10:51 AM #

      When I did my master degree presentation, one of the things my cohort leader commented on was that I was standing at an angle, lol. But, this time I think it’s the camera angle. Thanks for your comments, Sandra. I’ll check on that front-center thing.

  3. Martha July 9, 2013 at 1:56 PM #

    Wow – pretty darned good for a muslin!
    I do think it’s mighty close except for maybe the front crotch.
    I do also agree that some of this is camera angle. In picture 1, your right hip looks high and in picture 2, your left hip looks high. To me, anyway.
    I’m no expert at fitting but it seems like the front dip you describe is related to the excess front crotch issue.
    But all in all, very close, don’t you think? I’d wear them! Looking forward to seeing the real thing now.

    • Janis July 10, 2013 at 10:12 AM #

      I’m pretty sure it’s the camera angle, Martha. And I agree about the front crotch. Yes, it’s pretty close, which is amazing!

  4. Zoe July 9, 2013 at 12:42 PM #

    Pretty amazing for a muslin! You’ve inspired me to try the Eureka pattern!!

    • Janis July 10, 2013 at 10:11 AM #

      Zoe, I’m pretty impressed with this pattern already. Hope you have good luck with yours.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

