Cutting Line Designs “A New Dimension”

16 Jun

It has been awhile since I have sewn a Cutting Line Design pattern.   Awhile back, these patterns had so much ease, I couldn’t even sew the smallest size without doing some major alterations. That, or just look overpowered in my garment.  But now, they seem to be slimming down a bit, or did Louis just add an extra small size to the patterns?  I don’t know.

I love the instructions on these patterns.  They are very detailed and leave nothing to guess about.  Terrific illustrations go along with the well-written instructions.  And Louise Cutting, the designer, always includes sewing tips that enhance the quality of the final product.

There are two versions in “A New Dimension”.  One is a long jacket/blouse with an interesting collar treatment.  The other is a short jacket with tab closure:

A New Demension

One of the best suggestions in the instructions is how to finish the underarm part of the side seam.  These sleeves are cut-on, and I don’t usually like the way cut-on sleeves hang under the arm.  The instructions say to diagonally clip each side of the seam separately.  Then, as you serge, open up the clips slightly, so that you are actually sergeing air between the clips.  This makes the sleeves hang nicely.  Here is my version, done up in a linen jacquard:

Open:

Closed:

It’s worth it to note that the only alteration I made to this pattern was to shorten the sleeve.  I usually do a narrow shoulder adjustment, if nothing else.  But, this jacket has something Louise calls “military princess seams”, the seams running from front to back.  This gives the illusion of a shoulder line, so I think it works for my narrow shoulders.

This was a very fun project and I highly recommend this pattern.  I am definitely going to sew the longer version…oh, and make some pants to go with this version :).

8 Responses to “Cutting Line Designs “A New Dimension””

  1. sewrmaciwi July 21, 2013 at 6:14 AM #

    O I love your choice of fabric for this, your picture looks way better than the pattern itself. Fantastic look!

  2. Audrey June 19, 2013 at 10:33 PM #

    Your jacket is lovely. I was happy to hear the pattern is not as roomy as some of Louise’s other patterns. I almost bought this one at the Sewing Expo but didn’t. I am regretting that decision.

  3. Sandra June 17, 2013 at 10:36 AM #

    Thanks for your little review of this pattern, especially about the sizing. Aren’t Louise’s instructions the best? Oh and you look great in it, the color, style, and lovely sewing.

  4. Jane M June 17, 2013 at 3:26 AM #

    I was wondering about this pattern also and just love how it looks on you, casual without being sloppy.

  5. Sharon June 16, 2013 at 8:07 PM #

    Very cute jacket and glad to hear the sizing is smaller at least for this jacket.

    • Janis June 16, 2013 at 8:28 PM #

      It might even be small enough for you, Sharon :).

  6. Mary in FL June 16, 2013 at 2:58 PM #

    That looks really cute on you!

  7. Shams June 16, 2013 at 1:51 PM #

    I like the look of this pattern a lot and am glad to hear it is less oversized. Yours looks great! (I may just have to pick up this pattern…)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

