New Infinity Scarf Instructions

30 Nov

I recently decided to make some faux fur infinity scarves for Christmas presents this year.  I haven’t made an infinity scarf since the two I made for my Italy trip last year.  I thought it would be easy to sew a few scarves together quickly.

After several tries and several bouts with the seam ripper, I decided my instructions from last year were not very clear.  So, I’m revising the infinity scarf instructions, and this time I hope they are easier to follow.  Here are the steps:

This is 1 1/2 yards of fabric, cut to 14 inches wide.

1.  Choose a piece of fabric that is at least 1 1/2 yards long.   The width of the piece is dependent upon the thickness of the fabric.  For example, last year I made my silk scarves with fabric that was 60 inches wide, and they were quite chunky.  If I were to make those scarves again, I would cut the fabric in half to 30 inches.  I think that would make a nice silk infinity scarf.  But, since faux fur is so much thicker, you would need a narrower piece.  My faux fur was about 56 inches wide, and I cut it into four pieces, each 14 inches wide.  So, you have to play around with the width a little bit, depending on the type of fabric you are using.

Folded in half lengthwise, right sides together

2.  Fold the fabric piece in half lengthwise, right sides together.

This is one end after it is stitched.

3.  Beginning about 4 inches from the end, stitch along the open edge, using a small seam allowance (about 1/4 inch).  Stitch to about 4 inches from the other end.

This is the piece with one end shoved into the tube to the other end.

4.  Sewing up the edge creates a tube.  Now take one end of the tube and push it into the tube until that end reaches the other end (see the picture above).  Now the two ends are right sides together and can be stitched from edge to edge using a small seam allowance.

This is the end you will stitch closed.

5.  Once you have sewn the end together, you will have a hole in the scarf.  Turn the fabric right side out through the hole.

This is the hole in the scarf before it is turned right side out.

This is the hole in the scarf after it is turned to the right side.

6.  Finally, hand stitch the hole from the right side.

Hand stitch the opening to close.

I hope these instructions are easier to understand.  Enjoy your infinity scarves.

11 Responses to “New Infinity Scarf Instructions”

  1. Marjie November 29, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

    I just found this wonderful site while searching online for scarf tutorials. I agree with the other posters, your instructions are excellent. Question: What length of fabric would you suggest for a faux fur scarf that does not wrap, one that fits close to the neck? Thanks!

  2. Sandra November 26, 2012 at 7:43 PM #

    HI again, Janis, Just a quick update — your instructions were wonderful. I made my first infinity scarf! Not my last, that’s for sure. I’ll be looking at my fabric stash in a new way. Fabrics that are really beyond my skill level will be very manageable for these beauties — just straight stitching! I blogged about it and linked back here to your tutorial. Thanks again, Janis.

  3. Karen Saieed November 26, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

    Great tutorial, Janis. I will enjoy making a few of these for gifts.

    Karendee

  4. Sandra November 19, 2012 at 12:06 PM #

    Some nice person over at SG mentioned your tutorial for these infinity scarves. I must admit that I have seen instructions several times, but they never clicked. Until right this very minute. Thank you SO much for this tutorial.

  5. Jenn July 11, 2012 at 12:19 PM #

    Thanks for CLEAR instructions. I have struggled with the stitch & turn details using other instructions but these worked the first try. Thank you for the clarity.

  6. Pamela Ann May 26, 2012 at 8:20 AM #

    Sorry this comment is so late, but I was looking up these scarves and came upon this post
    I needed to make 4 DBFriends some BD gifts this summer, and what do you give these ladies when they have pretty much of whatever they need?? LOVE this idea,thank you for sharing this, and it saves me HOURS of knitting gloves for them this year,,,,,OK maybe I will make some gloves which was a huge request AND a lot of time and finger fitting too!
    But this will go w or w/o gloves,, thank you kindly,,,, PAB

  7. lsaspacey December 20, 2011 at 2:38 PM #

    These are much better instructions than any I have found on the web. I finally get how you finish it off. THANKS!!!

  8. Kathleen December 16, 2011 at 5:29 PM #

    Thanks for the super clear revised instructions: I can tell you were a teacher ;) Faux fur is a great idea… I am still loving the silk chiffon scarfs I made last year and am about to make another (perfect for southern California!) Your scarf recipients will be thrilled no doubt!

  9. kuby2u December 14, 2011 at 9:44 AM #

    Great scarf and the instructions are very easy to understand. I’d love to find some faux fur.

  10. Sharon December 1, 2011 at 3:14 PM #

    Gorgeous scarf and thank you for the updated isntructions, I am hoping to make some silk ones for Xmas presents.

  11. Shams November 30, 2011 at 11:49 PM #

    That scarf is beautiful and I bet it is so yummy against the skin!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

