Lovely Middle-aged Italian Women Part 1

20 Oct

I began thinking about taking pictures of middle-aged Italian women way back when I started planning my travel wardrobe.  I was trying to see if I could plan a wardrobe that would help me fit in a bit in Italy.  I have no illusion about looking like anything other than an American (actually, someone in Italy asked DH and I if we were Canadians, but that’s probably the only other nationality for which we could pass), but I don’t want to stand out like a sore thumb, either.

As I googled “mature Italian women street scenes” and various other similar words, I discovered…virtually nothing, nada, rien. I became determined to take the pictures and put them on my blog so that others who google “mature Italian women” (and I’m sure there will be many :)) will find pictures of them here.  So here we go:

Lucca

I saw this a million times if I saw it once. . . grandma's pushing strollers. Notice the no color color.

 

I like her short hair and shorter skirt. Notice the no color color.

Tourists on the left, native on the right.

Look closely. . .this is a very interesting outfit. You can tell they are Italians because he is carrying a "European shoulder bag".

Women do wear jeans, but they are never sloppy looking. I saw the penny-loafer type shoe a lot.

These quilted jackets were very popular with the middle-aged set.

These folks were "dressed up".

One of the things I noticed is that women don’t go bare-legged, unless they are wearing flip-flop-type shoes, which I didn’t see much of since it is fall.  Another thing that was interesting to note, Italians tend to dress for the season rather than the weather.  On this trip, I saw many Italians with jackets and coats, even though it was in the 70′s most days.

As soon as I can download the rest of my pictures onto flickr, I’ll post some of the lovely women of Venice.

Thanks so much for all the nice comments about my travel wardrobe.  Karen and Sharon commented on getting that many clothes into a carry-on.  The answer is “knits”. Knits fold very compactly.  I don’t think I could have fit those clothes into the carry-on if they had been wovens.  Also, remember that I had a tote, as well.  I carried the raincoat, cosmetics, and toiletries in that.

Kathleen wanted to know about my cross-shoulder purse (which I carried in the tote while traveling).  It is a Kate Spade purse that I got at the Nordstrom Anniversary sale in August for $98.00.  I thought it was a pretty good deal.

5 Responses to “Lovely Middle-aged Italian Women Part 1”

  1. bette sinclair March 24, 2013 at 3:17 PM #

    I’ve been googling the same subject! We are going to Lucca, Como and Bologna in June. One important cue I got from your photos ( thank you!) is that Italian women know about ‘hue.’ Greens, charcoal, blacks, blueblacks, subtle and they know how to wear them. The handbag and shoe is essential! Even when Italian woman wear leggings or jeans, they wear a stylish flat. I will take photos in June and report back!

  2. AKA May 23, 2011 at 7:14 PM #

    I have been searching for photos of mature, Italian women for 8 years to see what they wear. I am an Italian-American who lives in an area where I never see women of my coloring and body shape. I crave visuals to get a better view of clothing shapes and colors that flatter.

    I have moved past my years of the hour glass figure and dark hair. I am at a loss for shapes and colors to flatter my latest shape and coloring.

  3. ruth May 5, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    love the pictures of the italian ladies ourfits. the older ladies dressed in black/dark colours are possibly widows. my fried is italian and was going to italy after her husband died to grieve. she had lived in england so long she had bought t-shirts and tops in bright colours. she had to go out and buy all black garments because she didn’t want to scandalise her italian relatives ‘in italy widows wear black until they die’ is what she told me.

  4. didyoumakethat October 22, 2010 at 2:57 AM #

    Fascinating to spot these cultural differences. I spent a weekend in Seville, Spain and was really impressed by how the ladies (and men) made a big deal of getting very dressed up for their evening outings. It was like watching a parade as people wandered past, on their way to late meals in restaurants. And to see them in their Sunday best for church! Wow. We’ve definitely forgotten how to do that in the UK.

  5. Sharon October 20, 2010 at 9:07 PM #

    Love your captions and that is a very intersting outfit the Italian lady is wearing. I am on the look out for some penny loafers. Looking forward to seeing what the lovely women of Venice are wearing.

    I thought knits would be the answer and I might have to invest in a tote as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

