As Promised, Infinity Scarf Instructions

27 Sep

I have decided that making one’s own silk scarf is the biggest bargain in sewing.  At Nordstrom, a large-sized silk designer scarf goes for between $250.00 and $350.00.  No kidding!  I paid $18.00 for 1 1/2 yards of silk at a local fabric store, and it took me about a half hour to make each of my infinity scarves. As they say, it’s a no-brainer!

Here are pictures of my two infinity scarves with the TSW cardigan I just completed:

The first scarf is a brown/seafoam green crinkle silk sheer, and the second is a black and cream polka-dot silk sheer.  I used the instructions from the current issue of Vogue Magazine to make the infinity scarf.  In case you are wondering what an infinity scarf is, it’s a scarf in a continuous circle (redundant?) that can be wrapped around your head a few times to give that current chunky, turtle-neck look.

You will need about 1 1/2 yards of 60 inch silk.  When you get your silk home, even out the ends of the fabric as much as possible.  Also, make sure you know how to use the rolled hem feature of your serger by testing a small sample before you begin.  Did I make a test hem?  No.  Do as I say, not as I do :).

The first thing you will do is fold the fabric in half lengthwise, right sides together, and pin.  Starting about 3 or 4 inches from the cut edge, serge until you get about 3 or 4 inches from the other cut edge (you’re stitching the selvages together):

Both ends will look like this. You will have 3 or 4 inches unstitched on either side.

The next part is a bit tricky.  With right sides together, stitch the ends together from selvage to selvage.  The scarf will be all bunched up at this point, but carry on.

There will be a hole in the middle of the scarf now.  Turn the scarf inside-out, through the hole, so that the public side of the scarf is facing out:

When you are finished sewing the edges and turning inside-out, it should look like this.

Now hand stitch the rest of the selvage seam closed, and viola, you have an infinity scarf!

Happy sewing!

9 Responses to “As Promised, Infinity Scarf Instructions”

  1. KathleenB October 31, 2010 at 7:06 PM #

    Yes, Janis, I used the same measurements, and my Bernina handled the fabric fine, although I may use a serged 3 thread narrow seam next time just because it is so slick. I used a poly chiffon, practice fabric, from Joann’s. I have two pieces of exquisite designer silk, slightly shorter, from my recent visit to Mood Fabrics :DDD in Los Angeles. Even though I bought less yardage, more like 1 1/4, I think they will be fine since the width is still 60″, just not quite as “chunky”.

  2. Janis October 31, 2010 at 5:29 PM #

    Kathleen, glad it worked for you. Yes, all edges were enclosed. I just used the rolled hem because the serger fed my thin silk nicely through it. I was afraid a straight stitch on the regular machine wouldn’t be as kind. Did you use the same measurements as mine?

  3. KathleenB October 29, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

    Janis, am I correct in reading that the serged selvedge edge is stitched together with a rolled, or narrow hem? Thanks! Your scarves really look great with your outfits.

    • Janis October 29, 2010 at 7:04 AM #

      Hi Kathleen,

      I didn’t serge the selvedge edge, I just used my serger to do the rolled hem. I did the same with the edges. I hope I understood your question and answered it correctly.

  4. Sheila October 10, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

    What should the approx. finished dimensions of this be? I am a bit confused. It seems like the finished size would be about 30″ wide (1/2 of the 60″ fabric width – seam allow) x about 1 1/2 yd (minus seam allow). That seems odd. Am I misreading this?

  5. Stash September 29, 2010 at 12:08 PM #

    Thank you. Now I don’t have to buy that Hot Pattern you mentioned that had the infinity scarf in it. ;-) I did not even know about the Vogue mag version. Great Christmas gifts IMHO. Your travel wardrobe is really pretty, Janis.

    • Janis September 29, 2010 at 12:14 PM #

      Yes, I intend to make some infinity scarves for Christmas gifts. Thanks for the the kudos, Stash.

  6. Sharon September 27, 2010 at 3:48 PM #

    Your travel wardrobe has come together so well and I’m sure you will get plenty of wear out of all the mix and match pieces you have made. I love the scarves and thank you for letting us know how to achieve the same look. Now to find the silk :)

    • KathleenB October 30, 2010 at 2:58 PM #

      Thanks, Janis…. I’ve achieved infinity scarf success!! But I must be dense, because I still don’t understand where you used the rolled hem. I constructed the scarf with my straight stitch; all edges are enclosed, right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

